Camino Aragonés

The Camino de Santiago Aragones or Camino Castellano Aragones is the route that departs from Somport, a mountain pass located on the Pyrenean border between Spain and France. The Camino Aragones itself ends at Puente la Reina, where it joins the Camino Frances to reach the Cathedral in Santiago de Compostela.

Village on the Camino de Santiago Aragones or Camino Castellano Aragones

The complete route from Somport to Santiago de Compostela is 827 kilometres long, of which 152 km. are made by the route on the Camino Aragones and 675 km. following the popular Camino Frances.

As in the early stages of the Camino frances, which cross the Pyrenees, the Camino Aragones is quite demanding, as it runs through mountain passes. However, the effort is always rewarded.

If you are looking for a simpler route, an excellent option is to start the Camino de Santiago from Logrono. Tell us what dates you have available and with whom you would like to live the experience and we can arrange everything for you.

    [phonetext prefijo]
    [countrytext pais]

    1. By clicking Submit you accept the Booking Policy.

    Here’s more information about the stages on the Camino Aragones, so you can know what you’re up against and whether it’s a layout that’s right for you. Read on.

    Camino Aragones: stages

    The Camino Aragones is a route which is not so busy, flooded by tranquility. While the stages that make up this route are almost as old as the early stages of the Camino Frances, from Saint Jean Pied de Port, this itinerary has always been less popular.

    Despite this, the network of accommodation and hostels on the Camino Aragones is extensive enough to complete the tour without difficulties. Although, as you would expect, once you join the Camino Frances, in Puente la Reina, the range will be much wider.

    The Camino Santiago Aragones can be divided into 6 stages if the tour is done on foot. The description of each of them is as follows:

    Stage 1 of the Camino Aragones

    The first stage runs between Somport and Jaca. The route is 32 km. and is made through a mountain environment, at 1,640 metres of altitude.

    From Jaca to Arres

    The second stage of the Camino Castellano Aragones is 25.4 km. long. The tour provides an excellent opportunity to visit the monasteries at San Juan de la Peña.

    Stage 3: Arres – Ruesta

    Between Arres and Ruesta there are 28,4 kilometres. This stage is much simpler than the previous ones as it faces fewer slopes.

    Stage 4 of the Camino Santiago Aragones

    Stage 4 of the Camino Aragones links Ruesta with Sanguesa. The route has a distance of 22 kilometres and faces a constant climb of almost 6 kilometres.

    Pilgrim in one of the stages of the Camino de Santiago Aragones

    From Sangoesa to Monreal

    On the penultimate stage of the Camino Santiago Aragones, the route leaves River Aragon, but in return gives magnificent views of the Irati River Valley. The route is 27.2 kilometres long.

    The last of the stages on the Camino Aragones

    The sixth and final stage, before joining the Camino Frances at Puente la Reina, is quite long (30.6 km.). The advantage is that the journey does not have many slopes.

    Camino de Santiago Aragones by bike

    If you decide to do the Camino de Santiago Aragones by bike, you will not find any problems during the tour. All stages are passable.

    Pilgrims who choose to do the Camino de Santiago Aragones by bike will be able to complete the tour in only 3 stages. The recommended stage distribution is:

    1. Somport – Santa Cilia (47.2 km.)
    2. Santa Cilia – Sanguesa (60.6 km.)
    3. Sanguesa – Puente la Reina (57.8 km.)

    For the time being, we say goodbye. We hope that the information we have provided in this article about the stages of the Camino de Santiago Aragones will be useful to you. Remember that if you want to do any of the routes on the Camino de Santiago with us, you can get information right here.

    Buen Camino!